Music News

Huey Lewis took to Twitter to thank the Foo Fighters for their cover of “Workin’ For A Livin'” during their recent livestream, Preparing Music For Concerts.

Lewis wrote, “Thank you to the @foofighters for the flattering words about ‘Workin’ For A Livin’,’ ‘Sports,’ and our music in general. It was an honor to be talked about in your ‘Preparing Music For Concerts’ video.”

The Foos featured their jam/cover of “Workin’ For A Livin'” in the middle of their hour-long livestream. The moment can be viewed below. It was kicked off by guitarist Chris Shiflett who sang the hook “I’m takin’ what they’re givin’/Cause I’m workin’ for a livin'” while playing the song’s riff. This was met with major approval by guitarist Pat Smear. Dave Grohl then asks if the song was on Huey Lewis & the News’ hit 1983 album Sports. Smear clarified “Workin’ For A Livin'” was released pre-Sports and said, “I love ‘Sports’…the record!” not to be confused with any athletic endeavor.


While the livestream stream did feature some unexpected love for Huey Lewis and the News, its primary purpose was to welcome Josh Freese as the band’s new drummer. Freese will be joining the Foos on tour following the passing of Taylor Hawkins in 2022 at age 50.

Freese is an accomplished session drummer that has played on a diverse roster of albums. Keep scrolling to see a list of songs he’s played on over the years!


Josh Freese: 14 Songs the New Foo Fighters Drummer Played On

  • Devo - 'Girl U Want'

    “Girl U Want” was originally released in 1980 on Devo’s album Freedom of Choice, which notably featured “Whip It.” The track was re-recorded in 1995 for the Lori Petty film Tank Girl, and this version features Freese on drums.

  • Sting - '50,000'

    “50,000” is featured on Sting’s 2016 album 57th & 9th. The song serves as a tribute to a number of late musicians that died during the making of the album including Prince, David Bowie, Glenn Frey and Lemmy Kilmister.

  • Meredith Brooks - 'Bitch'

    Freese drummed on Meredith Brooks’ 1997 album Blurring the Edges, which featured the smash hit “Bitch.” The track peaked on the Billboard Hot 100 at number two.

  • Bruce Springsteen - 'This Is Your Sword'

    Freese is one of many musicians that played on Springsteen’s 2014 album High Hopes. The lone track he played on was “This Is Your Sword.”

  • Guns N' Roses - 'Oh My God'

    Freese was briefly a member of Guns N’ Roses from 1997-2000. During that time, he appeared on “Oh My God,” which was featured on the soundtrack of the 1999 film End of Days.

  • Nine Inch Nails - 'Capital G'

    Another major band Freese was a member of was Nine Inch Nails. The drummer was in NIN from 2005-2008 and played on two tracks from the band’s 2007 album Year Zero: “Hyperpower!” and “Capital G,” which is embedded below.

  • Chris Cornell - 'Can't Change Me'

    Freese drummed on a majority of the tracks on Chris Cornell’s 1999 debut solo album Euphoria Mourning. Among those tracks was the LP’s lead single “Can’t Change Me.”

  • Avril Lavigne - 'When You're Gone'

    Freese has ample experience drumming for female solo artists. Avril Lavigne is just one of them, and Freese can be heard drumming on her 2007 ballad “When You’re Gone.”

  • Puddle of Mudd - 'She Hates Me'

    Freese can be heard on some notable 2000’s rock songs. Not only can he be heard on Puddle of Mudd’s “She Hates Me,” but he drummed on all of the tracks from the band’s 2001 debut album Come Clean, which also features “Blurry.”

  • Good Charlotte - 'The Anthem'

    Throw all your hands up! Freese can be heard on Good Charlotte’s hit 2002 album The Young and the Hopeless, which features “The Anthem.”

  • 3 Doors Down - 'When I'm Gone'

    Freese also drummed on 3 Doors Down’s 2002 album Away from the Sun and 2005’s Seventeen Days. The biggest hit from these albums was the moving “When I’m Gone,” which peaked on the Billboard Hot 100 at number four.

  • Evanescence - 'Bring Me to Life'

    Evanescence’s 2003 debut album Fallen features Freese’s drumming. The LP has been certified Diamond by the Recording Industry Association of America (RIAA) moving over 10 million units and has sold over 17 million units worldwide. Its lead single “Bring Me to Life” peaked on the Billboard Hot 100 at number five, and the song’s video has been viewed over one billion times on YouTube.

  • The Offspring - 'Let The Bad Times Roll'

    While Freese has never been an official member of The Offspring, he has played on a number of their albums, including 2021’s Let the Bad Times Roll, their latest LP.

  • Kelly Clarkson - 'Low'

    Freese can be heard on “Low” off the 2003 album Thankful, which is the debut LP of inaugural American Idol winner Kelly Clarkson.

Erica Banas is a rock/classic rock news blogger who's well-versed in etiquette and extraordinarily nice. #TransRightsAreHumanRights

Sign me up for the 96.5 BOB FM email newsletter!

BOB knows music, and now you can too! We'll send you the latest music news and information, plus all the great events going on locally with the BOB Squad.

By clicking "Subscribe" I agree to the website's terms of Service and Privacy Policy. I understand I can unsubscribe at any time.