Music News

Rush guitarist Alex Lifeson has a new project called Envy of None, and the group has released its first single from their debut album.

In addition to Lifeson, Envy of None is made up of bassist Andy Curran, producer/engineer Alfio Annibalini and singer -songwriter Maiah Wynne. The group’s first single, “Liar,” can be heard below and is described in a press release as “darker art rock of Depeche Mode, Nine Inch Nails and A Perfect Circle than anything these musicians have been known for prior.”


In a statement, Lifeson said of Wynne, “Maiah became my muse. She was able to bring this whole new ethereal thing through her sense of melody on tracks like ‘Liar’ and ‘Look Inside.’ After hearing her vocals on ‘Never Said I Love You,’ I felt so excited. I’ve never had that kind of inspiration working with another musician. When we say she’s special, it’s because she’s really fucking special!”

As for Envy of None’s self-titled debut album, that LP will drop on April 8 and is currently available for pre-order here.

Rush: Their 50 Greatest Songs, Ranked

Erica Banas is a rock/classic rock news blogger who's well-versed in etiquette and extraordinarily nice. #TransRightsAreHumanRights